Tyszowce is one of the oldest dwellings in the Lublin region, dating back to when it was known as the Ziemia Czerwieńska region. It received city rights before 1419. In Polish history it became famed as the site of the establishment of the 1655 confederacy against the Swedish invasion. Even in its earliest state, Tyszowce was always oriented towards craft. From 1563 onwards Tyszowce had a cobblers' guild. Aside from the parish church, the town had three Orthodox churches and a synagogue.
The basis of Tyszowce's urban setting is a town square with streets emerging from its corners, and the Ostrów jurisdiction located at its northern site. Initially the buildings in Tyszowce where wholly wooden; six stone houses appeared as late as 1827. In 1860 the town had an impressive number of 400 wooden houses.
The town square was characterised by arcade houses with both front-facing and high ridges, with unique facades of attics that served as living quarters. Aside from single-story buildings the square had several two-story houses and several "entrance" houses with wide entryways, and arcades supported by six wooden columns. The buildings had gable roofs, and due to the fact that many attics served as living spaces, some buildings had wide fronts with porches covered with protruding gable eaves. The wooden architecture of Tyszowce was destroyed in World War II. Currently examples of wooden architecture can be found at the site of the old Ostrów jurisdiction, and the Dębin suburbs.
Archive photos of Tyszowce
Modern photos of Tyszowce